Back to people overview

Planets and stars forming constellations that represent animals or humans. The European zodiac is split into twelve star signs: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. The signs of the zodiac are believed to confer different characteristics on people born during their time, and thus form part of astrology.

A coloured, copperplate illustration of the Earth surrounded by clouds and cherubs. A band of the Zodiac star signs is depicted around the middle of the Earth's sphere.